Roll Call (and shameless self-promotion)

January 25, 2011

Are you involved in Digital Humanities in New England? Define that however you like! From the geek in grad school who’s the only one in hir humanities classroom to be taking notes on a laptop to the manager of massive institutional digital project, we want to know who and where you are!

After THATCampNewEngland, some of us were talking about a DH pub night, or DH work days, or some informal gathering where we can get together, skillshare, network, or even just kvetch about the things that keep breaking in our work! Since Cliotropic has so generously set up this space for us, I thought, hey! why not use it?

To kick us off: I’m Marta, recent Ph.D. in English from Tufts University. My website is PhDeviate.org. I got into digital humanities years before I knew there was a term for what I did! Also years before I knew anyone else was doing it! Confusing! But eventually I stopped reinventing the wheel and learned that there’s a community of people who think about tools the way I do. (Disclaimers: I don’t promise never to reinvent the wheel again, and not everyone in DH thinks about tools the way I do. Broad strokes here!) My current interests include digital scholarly editions, digital productivity tools, and digital teaching tools. I’m currently involved in learning XML.

So, who are you? What do you do? What events would you like to see in New England?

6 Responses to “Roll Call (and shameless self-promotion)”


  1. […] created a (long overdue) post over at DH New England that springs from some of the conversations we were having about getting together to do DH stuff in […]


  2. Thanks for taking the initiative on this, Marta.

    I’m Shane Landrum, an American history Ph.D. candidate at Brandeis University. (I also started this blog and haven’t had time to maintain it.)

    Before grad school (1998-2004), I built web software for a living, and I’ve recently come back to technical projects by using (and hacking around on) Zotero, WordPress, and Omeka. I’m interested a lot in digital archives projects, particularly crowdsourced digitization and transcription. I’d also like to learn more about mapping and social network analysis tools for use in historical research.

    I’m trying to finish my dissertation and don’t have much time, but I’d be glad to hear of any get-togethers Boston-area people are organizing.

    It strikes me that there’s not a current Boston-area DH talk/demo monthly series, akin to the Boston Seminar on the History of Women and Gender. There should be. Anyone looking for a CV line?

  3. JBD Says:

    Great idea, Marta, and hi! I’m Jeremy Dibbell. I did the history/archives track at Simmons, finishing up a few years ago. I’ve recently left the Mass Historical Society (where I helped launch the John Quincy Adams Twitter feed) and am now handling social media and rare books projects for LibraryThing (doing fun things like recreating Early American Libraries, &c.).

    Like Shane, I think crowdsourced transcription projects are going to get really interesting really fast, and I’m fascinated to see what happens with things like Zotero Community.

    Great idea to do some get-togethers; Simmons occasionally does a fun “unconference” where folks speak for just 5-8 minutes on a topic they’re working on (planned on a wiki before to avoid overlap). Might be worth exploring as a model.

  4. Jon Myerov Says:

    Hi,

    I’m Jon. I work at iRobot in Bedford. I’m in the business and contracts end, not the inventing/building robots end. I’m also developing a dissertation that will hopefully combine Hidden Markov Models to the analysis of Anglo-Saxon poetry.

    My immediate interests are in learning how to program. I’m in the beginning stages of trying to teach myself to program in Python.

    My blog is Gearwor, http://gearwor.blogspot.com/.


  5. Can there be a digital pedagogy without computers? Amid the influx of electronics into classrooms and the rising debates, popular and professional, about how computers and the internet affect reading, cognition, and learning, now seems like a good time to ask. There are vigorous critiques of a headlong rush to technologize education from those who suspect its deleterious effects upon learning [ Bauerlein 2008 ], [ Carr 2010 ]. There are also healthy critiques of instructional technology from people very sympathetic to educational and humanities computing, who point out that technology cannot change the classroom without first changing the pedagogy (see, for example, [ Krause 2010 ]). As a result, discussions about digital pedagogy and effective uses of instructional technologies are flourishing across social media as well as conventional academic settings. Former president of the MLA Gerald Graff has an “optimistic sense of the potential of these technologies — if we heed [the] wake-up call to use them in imaginative ways” [ Graff 2009 , 7]. That imaginative horizon is wide, but it might be limited by keeping digital pedagogy synonymous with tools to utilize, or with the particular technologies of digital media. Mark Bauerlein, who is generally pessimistic about the educational benefits of technology, predicts that “over the next 10 years, educators will recognize that certain aspects of intelligence are best developed with a mixture of digital and nondigital tools” [ Bauerlein 2010 ]. This is not much of a concession, as the digital and nondigital are still consigned to being tools, and still separate things to be mixed.


  6. […] created a (long overdue) post over at DH New England that springs from some of the conversations we were having about getting together to do DH stuff in […]


Leave a Reply

