Welcome!

March 25, 2010

Inspired by the Digital Humanities SoCal blog, I created this space as a way to disseminate information about digital-humanities events and research projects in Boston and the greater New England region.  Given how many colleges and universities call New England home, I know that there must be interesting DH projects going on in the area, but as a graduate student at Brandeis for the past 6 years, I’ve had trouble finding them. I keep meeting people who are the One Digital Humanities Person in their department or office, and I want to make a space where we can all find one another.

Right now, the only upcoming DH event I’m aware of is the humanities+digital visual interpretations conference, being held at MIT, May 20-22. I also hear rumors of a New England regional THATCamp in the works, but nothing’s been confirmed yet.

If you’re affiliated with a research center, department, conference, or other project that’s engaged in digital-humanities work, I’d love to hear from you about what you do. I’d particularly welcome guest posts or other contributions from advanced undergrads, graduate student, library/information sciences people, and alternative-academics as well as faculty, in a variety of genres: project overviews, opinion pieces, calls for papers. Please comment below, find me on twitter (@cliotropic), or email me at srl at (mytwittername) dot org.

3 Responses to “Welcome!”


  1. Thanks for starting this, Shane. We definitely need a non-institutional place to bring together people from New England. I hope it takes off.


  2. Hi Shane,

    I’m one of the ones talking about a New England THATCamp. Thanks for starting this blog.

  3. slubar Says:

    Thanks for setting this up! We should keep in touch.

    Steve


Leave a Reply

